I keep forgetting to put this one on my blog – I wrote about it in my e-mail newsletter back in November. I made it last night and it didn’t fail me!

Enjoy!

Salmon with Puff Pastry and Pesto
Serves 2

This recipe requires 5, yes 5 ingredients. OK maybe more if you want to make your own basil pesto, but who’s counting really?
Salmon is a fish that I used to dislike as it was much too fishy for my taste. Slowly though, I’ve started liking it, but I only like it cooked medium. (I know, it’s strange) Salmon cooked medium will be flaky, but smooth – unlike overcooked or ‘well done’ salmon which is a bit harder to cut into.

The five ingredients you will need are puff pastry, pesto, two 4-6 oz. fresh salmon with the skin taken off, sliced almonds and tomato. (Salt and pepper makes 7 ingredients)

You can always find frozen puff pastry sheets in the frozen aisle of the super market. I believe Pepperidge Farm makes it. It comes in a package of two sheets.

About 20 minutes before you want to make this dish, take out one of the sheets (put the other back in the freezer for next time) and lay it on a paper towel until it has thawed enough that you can lay the sheet flat and cut the pastry.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place the two pieces of salmon on the foil. Sprinkle and small handful of almonds on the salmon. Season the salmon with a small amount of salt and pepper.

Cut two pieces of puff pastry that are slightly bigger than the salmon pieces and place on the baking sheet with the salmon. Make sure the salmon and puff pastry are not touching.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes.

To assemble the dish, place the puff pastry on a plate and slather on 1-2 tablespoons of store-bought pesto. Top the pesto with two slices of tomato and then the baked salmon.

You’re done!

Bon appetit!

