Hi all,

Ben’s (my boyfriend’s) co-workers had a small holiday gathering yesterday afternoon during which they opened secret Santa gifts, ate, drank etc… What he forgot to tell me until a few days before the party was that I was supposed to make something to bring. Now, normally I wouldn’t have cared, but we’re having our own holiday party at our apartment today (Sunday) that I’ve been preparing for…

So, I tried to figure out a good thing to bring that wouldn’t be too difficult. Everyone had been over our apartment before and they knew I was capable of cookng so I couldn’t just bring chips/dip, veggies/dip etc… you get the picture.

A lightbulb when off in my head when I thought of the perfect dish to bring…Brie en Croute!

It was such a hit – everyone was so impressed and and no idea it took no time at all.

Brie en Croute

Ingredients:
Wheel of brie
One sheet of puff pastry (in the freezer aisle)
1 tb. butter
1/2 c. walnuts
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
egg
Crackers/bread (for serving with)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Defrost the puff pastry on the counter for about 20 minutes and unfold it. Place the wheel of brie in the center of the patry.

Melt the butter in a sauce pan and add the walnuts, and cook for 5 minutes. Add the cinnamon and stir to coat the walnuts.

Place the walnut mixture on top of the brie. Gently fold up the edge of the puff pastry and secure at the top so that no brie is showing (its ok if its ugly).

Beat the egg and brush it over the patry. Bake for 20 minutes and enjoy the gooey, yummy cheese!

