This year, I was tasked with cooking Christmas eve dinner at my boyfriend’s house in Boston. I wanted to do a traditional meal since it was a special evening.

We had purchased a standing rib roast for the occasion. A few years ago I cooked a creole mustard, rosemary and garlic crusted prime rib for my boyfriends birthday and I thought it would be the perfect dish for the occasion.

The recipe is Emeril’s originally, but was modified by my friend Beej who is now a personal chef/caterer.

Creole Mustard, Rosemary and Garlic Crusted Prime Rib

In a blender combine:

1 cup creole mustard
10 cloves garlic
1 cup chopped onion
2-3 sprigs of Rosemary,
1/2 c. olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

The original recipe called for it to be marinated in this for 24 hours, but we did it for 2 and it was just fine :-).

Pour the mixture over a 3-5 lb. standing rib roast. Marinate for 2-24 hours.

Bake at 425 for 30 minutes and then lower the temp to 350 for another hour. Check the temp with a meat thermometer every 15 minutes for your desired doneness. Personally, I like it to be medium-rare, which is 145 degrees inside.

Take the roast out of the oven and let stand for 15 minutes so the juices can redistribute. Slice and serve! 🙂

I also made bacon and leek mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus with this – it was the perfect holiday meal!

