Hi!

Last night I made a recipe from Cooking Light that called for soba noodles. I’d never cooked with these before, but let me tell you, I’m kicking myself in the you know what because of it…

The recipe was a soba noodle salad with seared tuna. The soba noodles were dressed with a mixture of soy sauce, sesame oil, peanut oil, salt, pepper, sugar, rice vinegar and crushed red pepper flakes – and then diced/julienne carrots, peppers, cucumbers and scallions were added.

It was one of the tastiest dishes I made in a long time. So, today I set out to learn about these soba noodles I am growing so fond of. Here is what I learned…

According to Wikipedia…
Soba (蕎麦, Soba?) is the Japanese word for buckwheat. However, it is more commonly used to refer to thin Japanese noodles made from buckwheat flour. It is served either chilled with a dipping sauce, or in hot broth as a noodle soup.

Because noodles made out of pure buckwheat can easily fall apart when boiled, the buckwheat flour is usually mixed with binders, often wheat flour. Under the Japan Agricultural Standards regulations, the noodles have to contain at least 30% buckwheat in order to be called soba but noodles with a high buckwheat content are seen as more desirable. The raw noodles are made by making a dough out of buckwheat flour and binder, spreading it out flat before slicing noodle strands off it using a special knife. The quality of noodles is highly dependant on the skill of the maker especially for soba noodle with high buckwheat content. The raw noodles are boiled before being served hot or cold.

Also, according to Cooking Light, soba noodles are the ‘new’ whole-wheat pasta! One cup of cooked noodles is only 113 calories, 24 g. carbohydrates and less than 1 gram of fat. Can you get any better than that??

So, take my advice, pick up some soba noodles (at your local Asian market, or Whole Foods) and eat them TODAY!

