I had no idea what I was going to make for dinner last night, which is very unlike me because I usually plan my week’s menus on Sunday prior to the week. So I took a look in the fridge and saw that I had an unopened package of prosciutto just waiting to be eaten. I also had some mozzarella cheese leftover from the chicken parm I made last week (see below). Hmm what to do? This is what I came up with…

Chicken Roll-Ups with Prosciutto and Cheese – Serves two

Pound 2 chicken breasts until 1/4 inch thick. Place a piece of prosciutto on top of the chicken and put a slice of mozzarella cheese on top. (I normally would have used fontina or a less melty cheese, but it was all I had)

Roll up the chicken and secure it in two places with a wooden toothpick.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Preheat a skillet to medium-high heat and add 1 tb. extra virgin olive oil.

Coat the roll ups in flour and place in the heated skillet. Brown the chicken on all sides, roughly 2-3 minutes per side.

Remove the roll-ups from the skillet and place in the oven for 10 minutes.

While the chicken is in the oven, add 1-2 cloves of chopped garlic to the skillet that had the chicken in it. Saute for 30 seconds, then add 1/2 c. white wine to the pan, 1 tbs. lemon juice and 1 tbs. butter. Bring the mixture to a boil so the wine evaporates and flavor concentrates, about four minutes.

Place the cooked chicken roll-ups back into the pan with the sauce and sprinkle chopped fresh parsley over it. Enjoy!

