I know, I’m a bit late in blogging about this dinner. I think I was just too full to think about it until now – jk.

My boyfriend is a very adventurous eater, but for special occasions, he prefers meat and potatoes. So, I’d already decided to bacon and leek mashed potatoes, stuffed tomatoes provencal (recipe below) and filet mignon with a brandy and peppercorn cream sauce — are you hungry yet?

I wracked my brain, trying to come up with the perfect appetizer – I looked through all my cookbooks twice and finally came upon this Aspragus Veloute in a Parisian cook book I got recently. It is basically pureed asparagus with leeks and chicken stock, but it was the perfect start to our special meal.

For dessert, creme brulee had to be it – I got a kitchen torch about a year ago and I’ve only used it twice.

We were sufficiently stuffed and ended up with a LOT of clean up 🙂

Asparagus VelouteAsparagus Veloute

Sautee one thinkly sliced leek in 2 tbs. extra virgin olive oil until they are soft. Add 1 lb. of chopped asparagus. Cook for 5 minutes. Add 1 can of chicken stock (13-14 oz), cover and let simmer for 15 minutes.

Puree the soup in a blender and add salt and pepper to taste.

I also toasted some baguette slices with some parmesan cheese to put on top of the soup.

dinner.jpgFilet Mignon with Brandy and Peppercorn Cream Sauce

I didnt buy much meat – only about 3/4 lb. – and it was actually the perfect amount for us because of all the other food I made.

Season the filet with salt and white pepper. (If you dont have white you can use black). Heat 1 tbs. extra virgin olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Place the steaks in the pan and do not move them for five minutes. Turn them over and cook them for another five minutes. Remove from the pan and losely cover. (this will give you medium-rare steaks).

For the sauce, add 1/2 cup minced shallots and 2 minced garlic cloves. Saute until translucent. Add 2 tb. flour and cook for one minute. Add 3/4 cup beef broth, 3 tbs. brandy, and 1/4 c. heavy cream. Add 2 tbs. roughly chopped green peppercorns in brine.

Bring sauce to a simmer and let thicken until it will coat the back of a spoon – about 5 minutes.

Serve over the steaks and enjoy!

