Hello!

I was FINALLY able to blog about my Valentine’s Day dinner – it was definitely a good one! There some pictures too, so definitely check it out!

I cook chicken a lot and I’m always looking for new and easy recipes to make so I won’t be bored with my dinners on the weeknights. For this week’s issue, I’m providing three sauces you can make to serve with sauteed boneless, skinless chicken breasts.

The first is a piccata – I’ve probably made this recipe 20 times and it’s always a winner. The second is a pan sauce that I got from my local newspaper (The Washington Post) around a year ago. And the third is a sauce I created out of my love for gorgonzola cheese.

Enjoy!

P.S. To cook the chicken, season both sides of a thin chicken breast (pound if necessary) with salt and pepper and preheat a skillet at medium-high heat with 1 tbs. extra virgin olive oil. Cook the chicken five minutes on each side or until cooked through.

Lauren Hillman

Piccata Sauce – The Hillman Way
Serves 2

Remove the cooked chicken breasts from your saute pan and add to the pan 2 tb. lemon juice, 1 clove chopped garlic, ½ c. white wine, 1 chicken bullion cube and 1 tb. butter. Bring to a boil and cook for a few minutes – remove the remaining bullion if it has not dissolved yet; Add 1 tb. chopped parsley and serve over chicken.

Orange-Dijon Pan Sauce
From The Washington Post

Remove the cooked chicken breasts from your saute pan. Add to the pan ½ cup orange juice, 1 tsp. Dijon mustard and ½ fresh chopped rosemary into the pan. Bring to a boil. Reduce until the sauce is 1/4 cup.

Whisk in 1 tb. butter until the sauce is smooth and glossy. Serve over the chicken.

Gorgonzola Sauce
Serves 2

Remove the cooked chicken breasts from your saute pan. Add to the pan 1 tbs. chopped garlic, 1/4 cup white wine, 1 tbs. butter, and 1/4 cup chicken stock. Boil until reduced to around 1/4 cup. Add in 1/4 cup crumbled gorgonzola sauce and stir continuously until melted and incorporated into the sauce. Serve over the chicken.

