Hello!

I hope you like the new (and improved!) design for Hillman’s Helpings! I’ll be adding more and more as the weeks go on.

I spent last weekend in North Carolina with my boyfriend and his family. While we had a great time, we sure ate our fare share. We decided that this week we were going to ‘detox.’ I put on my thinking cap and came up with a tasty AND healthy meal: stir fry shrimp over soba noodles. The best part was that it only took me 25 minutes to make!

The best part was that it only took me 25 minutes to make!

Enjoy!

Lauren Hillman

STIR FRY SHRIMP OVER SOBA NOODLES
Serves 2

Put a pot of water over high heat and bring to a boil. Drop in 4-6 ounces soba noodles (I just use half the package!) Boil for 6 minutes or until the noodles are soft. Drain in a colander. DO NOT RUN COLD WATER OVER THE NOODLES. You want to keep them warm for when you add them to the veggies/shrimp.

Put a pan over medium-high heat and add 1 tbs. vegetable oil. Saute 1 large clove chopped garlic and 1 tsp. chopped fresh ginger until soft, about 2 minutes. Add to the pan a large handful of cleaned snow peas and 1 red pepper, chopped. Saute until the vegetables are tender, or about 5 minutes.

Add 16 raw shrimp to the pan and saute until the shrimp are cooked through. Then add 4 tbs. rice vinegar, 2 tbs. soy sauce, 2 tbs. sesame oil, 1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes, 1 tsp. sugar and salt and pepper to taste. Cook until the sauce has incorporated. Add the cooked soba noodles and coat them with the sauce. Serve!

Bon Appetit!

