Hello!

It’s amazing how quickly the weather changes here! Last week I wrote about the snow and this week it’s in the 70s – that’s D.C. for you I guess! I love to cook with basil in the warm weather.

Last summer I had a small herb garden on my balcony in which I grew basil, rosemary and thyme. The basil pretty much killed the thyme, but that’s another story for another day.

I tried to come up with creative ways to use the basil before it went bad. Today’s recipe is one of my favorite brainstorms. When you hear the words “creamy” and “pesto” you usually don’t think healthy. I promise you that this recipe is healthy, easy and delicious.

Enjoy!

CREAMY PESTO CHICKEN
Serves 2

Preheat a skillet at medium-high heat and add 1 tbs. extra virgin olive oil.

Slice two boneless, skinless chicken breasts on a diagonal and saute browned. (Don’t worry if they are not cooked all the way through – we do that later) Add 2 cloves of chopped garlic and 3.5 tbs. sherry (or sherry cooking wine) into the pan. Cook until chicken is cooked through.

Mix in ¼ cup pine nuts and cook 2-3 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Mix in 1/2 cup chopped FRESH basil, 1-8 oz. container of light sour cream, 3 tbs. Parmesan cheese and freshly gound black pepper.

Once all incorporated, eat! Serve over pasta or spaghetti squash.

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Bon Appetit!

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

