Hello!

I don’t know about you, but I LOVE Tex-Mex food. I’m the first girl to order a bowl of queso, finish it all, and then move onto my actual meal. It’s such great comfort food, but not so good for you.

So, in honor of Cinco de Mayo this Saturday, I’m providing you with a few healthy recipes you can whip up if you’re having a party; or if you just have a hankering for some of those great Tex-Mex flavors (mmmm, avocado).

Enjoy!

BUFFET-STYLE TURKEY TACOS
Serves 8

When we have “turkey taco” night in my house, it means lettuce wraps! I know that most people equate lettuce wraps with Asian foods, but I actually use them for my turkey tacos. You can feel comfortable loading up on the fixins’ knowing that you aren’t eating lots of unwanted carbs!

Combine 2 tbs. chili powder, 4 tsp. onion power, 2 tsp. cumin, 2 tsp. garlic powder, 2 tsp. paprika, 2 tsp. powdered oregano, 2 tsp. sugar, and 1 tsp. salt in a bowl. Set aside.

Heat a large saute pan and add 2 lbs. ground lean turkey. Cook turkey, stirring frequently, until all the turkey is cooked (no more pink). Add 2/3 cups of water and spice mixture. Cook until the water has evaporated or the spice mixture has coated the turkey.

Sometimes I do use the commercial seasoning packet, but this spice mixture has less salt and more flavor, I find.

Remove the packaging from a head of iceberg lettuce and carefully remove the leaves, one-by-one. This might prove difficult at first, but it gets easier as you peel the layers off. Wash the leaves.

Set a table with your favorite taco additions. I like shredded cheese, chopped tomato, salsa and sour cream. Add your turkey mixture and the lettuce leaves to the table and assemble!

Bon Appetit!

HEALTHY GUACAMOLE SAUCE – From Cooking Light
Serves 8

This guac sauce came from a recip in the January 2007 issue of Cooking Light. It is meant to be serves with cumin-spiced chicken, but it is so awesome that I thought it’d be perfect for a dip!

Combine:
1/2 cup finely chopped green onions
1/2 cup finely chopped parsley
1/4 cup fat-free sour cream
1/2 tsp. salt
4 tbs. lime juice
1/4 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. ground red pepper
2 ripe avocados, seeded and coarsely mashed.

Chill in the fridge. Eat with tortilla chips!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings! Have a great Cinco de Mayo!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

