Hello!

I spent the majority of last week in the beautiful city of Amsterdam. While Amsterdam has some great museums, beautiful flowers and interesting nightlife, the city isn’t known for its food. Upon my return, I found myself yearning for a big salad.

So, the night I came back I fixed myself a HUGE salad. As I was pouring my homemade dressing onto the salad I thought to myself, “I wonder how many people waste money (and calories/fat) using store-bought salad dressings!”

Today’s Hillman’s Helpings consists of 3 great salads dressings that can be made quickly and with minimal effort.

Enjoy!

AWESOME BALSAMIC VINAIGRETTE

Blend the following in a food processor or blender:

1 tsp. salt and pepper
2 cloves garlic
1 tbs. dijon mustard
¾ cup balsamic vinegar

Gradually add 1.25 cups extra virgin olive oil. Blend until incorporated.

ASIAN SALAD DRESSING

Whisk Together:

¼ cup vegetable oil
3 tbs. white vinegar
2 tbs. hoisin sauce
2 tbs. sesame oil
1 tbs. soy sauce
1 tsp. allspice
1 tsp. sugar
½ tsp. dry mustard

BASIL VINAIGRETTE

Whisk together:

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar
3 cloves chopped garlic
5 minced basil leaves
1 tbs.. honey
1 tsp. salt
¼ tsp. pepper
¼ cup olive oil

I hope you enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

