Hello!

You know how they always say, “everything happens at once.” Well, it’s definitely my turn. This weekend we’re moving apartments and getting a new puppy! Needless to say, I didn’t have much time to think about this week’s recipe with packing and puppies on my mind. Lucky for me I have friends who love healthy cooking just as much as I do.

Today’s recipe comes from Cindy McDonald, the mother of my good friend Lauren. Lauren and Cindy definitely consider food one of their core hobbies, just like me! They were kind enough to share a summery seafood gazpacho for this week’s issue. Thanks to the McDonald’s for their help!

Enjoy!

SEAFOOD GAZPACHO
Serves 6

Ingredients:

1 cup shrimp, cooked, peeled and deveined, cut into bite sized pieces (I’d say 20ish)
5 ripe tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped (Mrs. McDonald uses canned whole tomatoes, already peeled)
1 large cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1/2 medium onion, finely diced
1 clove of garlic, minced
5 cups tomato juice (she used V~8)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup red wine vinegar
Tabasco sauce, to taste
1/4 cup vodka, or to taste (optional)
1/2 pound lump crab meat

Note: Coarsely chop the tomatoes, cucumber, bell pepper, and onion in a food processor.

If you don’t have a food processor, just chop the vegetables manually. You’ll just have a chunkier gazpacho.

Transfer to a large bowl and add minced garlic, tomato juice, olive oil, vinegar, Tabasco sauce, salt and vodka, if using. Mix well and pour mixture over shrimp and crabmeat. Cover and chill thoroughly for several hours.

Add croutons and/or freshly chopped cilantro for garnish.

I hope you enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings. Next week,

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

