Hello!

I’ve been so busy with work and other things that I haven’t been able to plan my meals out lately. On Tuesday night, I had no idea what I was gong to make. I ended up going to Whole Foods with my friend Allison for some inspiration.

My inspiration: Leeks! Leeks are part of the onion family but they’re sweeter and much more delicate. I left Whole Foods with some leeks and some crimini mushrooms (baby portobellas) and headed home to whip up a new creation.

Below is what I came up with . It was very good, and really only took 20 minutes to make!

Enjoy!

CHICKEN WITH WILTED LEEKS AND MUSHROOMS
Serves 2

Clean one leek by cutting off the roots and tough top portion. Cut the “good” part down the middle (you’ll end up with two half moons) and slice each half thinly. Place the chopped leeks into a bowl of water so the dirt can easily fall out. (Leeks grow in the ground and sometimes have dirt in between their many layers)

Thinly slice about 10 crimini mushrooms.

Preheat a large skillet with about 2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil and 1 tb. butter. Cut up two chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces. Season the chicken with salt and pepper and add the chicken to the skillet. Saute until the chicken is browned on all sides, about 4 minutes.

Remove the leeks from the water, squeeze the excess water out of them and add them to the pan with the mushrooms.

Stir to combine the mixture and let it cook for about 3 minutes, or until the leeks have wilted and the mushrooms have softened. Add 1/2 cup white wine and 1 tsp. butter to the pan. Bring the mixture to a simmer and let the wine reduce for about 2-3 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and you’re done!

Serve over couscous or orzo pasta.

Bon appetit!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

