Hello!

I don’t know about you, but I always struggle to find healthy snacks to eat when I get home from work. (I’m usually ravenous!) And because I get bored easily, I like to eat foods other than the traditional hummus and celery or fruit.

Today I’m providing a few snacks that are easy to prepare and refreshing on a hot summer day.

Enjoy!

MISSION FIGS WITH BLUE CHEESE

Black mission figs are in season now. In fact, I just picked up a whole bunch at my local Whole Foods. These figs have the thinnest skin and are super sweet. I like to halve them and put a thin sliver of blue cheese (or gorgonzola, stilton, roquefort etc..) on each half. It is the absolute perfect combination of salt and sugar. And because figs are pretty dense, you only need a few to fill you up!

If you aren’t watching your waistline a thin piece of prosciutto wrapped around the fig/cheese is heaven!

CHOPPED SALAD WITH EVOO AND BALSAMIC

Now this one may seem like a no-brainer, but whenever I tell people that I do this, a light bulb goes on in their head (I can almost see it!).

Basically, I finely chop a tomato and a half of a cucumber and put it in a bowl. Add 2 large basil leaves chopped and some kosher salt and pepper. Lastly I add a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and a splash of balsamic vinegar. I mix it all together and have this great, (and fresh) snack!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

