Hello!

My sincere apologies for not sending out an e-mail last week. I don’t want to go into the details, but I was super stressed, sick and had a sick puppy on my hands. It wasn’t pretty.

Anyhow, I’ve been cooking less lately because Mr. Hillman’s Helpings is working nights (and it’s no fun to make a big meal for yourself!). Despite the absence of my roomie, I had this strong desire on Monday to make crab cakes!

I decided that I wanted to design a recipe that was light and full of veggies and crab, not filler. Below is what I came up with. They turned out great, if I do say so myself.

Bon appetit!

LAUREN’S LIGHT CRAB CAKES!
Serves 4

Combine in a bowl:
1/3 cup light Mayo
1/4 cup minced red onion
1/4 cup minced red bell pepper
2 tbs. minced celery
1.5 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 lb. lump crab meat
3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs (found in Asian aisle of grocery store)

Form into 8 patties with your hands. Spread 1/2 cup panko on a plate and dredge all patties in the panko.

Preheat a NONSTICK skillet at medium heat with 1 tsp. butter and 1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil. Cook the patties (don’t crowd the skillet, 2-3 per batch) for 4-5 minutes on each side or until browned.

Serving Size = 2 cakes

Enjoy!

EASY TARTAR SAUCE

Mix together 1/2 cup light Mayo, 1 tbs. dijon mustard (keep adding dijon until you get the mustard-y color you like), 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce and one finely chopped dill pickle.

Serve with crab cakes!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

