Hello!

It’s hard to believe but this weeks issue marks the one-year anniversary of Hillman’s Helpings! I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it as much as I’ve enjoying sharing my recipes (and sometimes others recipes) with you.

One of my favorite fall flavors is pumpkin. I love pumpkin ravioli, pumpkin bread, pumpkin-flavored lattes and most of all, pumpkin soup! Canned pumpkin is readily available (and cheap!) and great to use in pumpkin soups!

Enjoy!

EASY PUMPKIN SOUP
Ingredients:
2 Tbs. olive oil

1 medium to large onion chopped

2 Tbs. chopped garlic

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups 100% pure pumpkin ( I use Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin in the can, not to be confused with the sweetened spiced pumpkin pie filling in a can.)

1 13.5 oz. can coconut milk

1 tsp. of salt or more or less to taste

In a large pot saute onion and garlic in olive oil over medium heat, until onions are soft. Be sure they do not brown. Once soft, add the pumpkin, coconut milk and chicken broth. Simmer and stir until well blended, about 5 to 10 minutes. Add salt to taste and serve.

Bon appetit!

I hope you’ve enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

