Hello!

Sorry I missed last week – sometimes I’m too busy to think of something good to send to everyone!

I’m super excited about this issue because it has two of my favorite desserts! The first are mini-cupcakes that my mom has been making for years. When I got my first apartment, one of my aunts gave me a hand mixer. I think I might have made these cupcakes (or banana bread) that day!

The second recipe comes from my friend Allison. She made them for a holiday party we had last year and I just loved them!

Enjoy!

BLACK-BOTTOM CAKES
Makes About 60

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, combine 8 oz. cream cheese (1/3 less fat), 1 egg, 1/3 c. sugar, 1/8 tsp. salt. Stir in 1 package of chocolate chips.

In another, larger bowl, combine 1.5 cups flour, 1 c. sugar, 1/4 c. cocoa, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. salt.

Add 1 cup of water, 1/3 c. vegetable oil, 1 tsp. white vinegar, 1 tsp. vanilla.

Beat well until it is a uniform consistency.

Fill mini-cupcake tins with liners.

Fill the liners halfway with the chocolate mixture and drop 1 tsp. of the cream cheese mixture on the top of each.

Bake for 10-11 minutes or until done.

For a festive approach, use food coloring to color the cream cheese mixture. I mixed red and yellow together last weekend to make orange filling! A great Halloween treat

Bon appetit!

EYES!

OK these aren’t really eyes, but I think they look like them!

These are cute, fun snacks that take no time to make, although it is nice to have a friend there to help. 🙂

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.

Lay out a bunch (50?) of butter crisp pretzels on a baking sheet covered with foil. Place an unwrapped Rolo on top of each of the pretzels.

Place the baking sheet (with the pretzel/Rolo combo) in the oven for 3 minutes.

After removing the baking sheet from the oven, press one M&M into each of the Rolo’s. Let them harden for at least an hour.

What a fun treat!

Hope you enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings! Have a great day.

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

