Hello!

As I said last week or the week before, the next few recipes are going to include some flavors that I love, however I don’t get to use them very often. Earlier this week, I made this wonderful dish with eggplant that was supposed to be a stew.

Well I don’t really know what it was! The first night I ate it with couscous and the second night I ate it over whole wheat spaghetti. If I had a spaghetti squash, I would definitely eat it with that also. Sounds like a sauce more than a stew, right?

Whatever it is, it’s GOOD! You can add chicken or beans to make it heartier, or just eat it as is!

Enjoy!

EGGPLANT STEW
Serves 4

1 medium cubed, peeled eggplant
2 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 1/2 cups (1-inch) bell pepper strips
1 cup chopped onion
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium zucchini, halved lengthwise and thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
1 (14.5-ounce) can no salt-added diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (6-ounce) can tomato sauce
1/2 cup grated fresh Parmesan cheese

Combine first 3 ingredients in a large microwave-safe bowl. Cover and microwave at HIGH 8 minutes.

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell pepper, onion, garlic, and zucchini; sauté 8 minutes or until onion is tender. Add eggplant mixture, basil, and next 4 ingredients (basil through tomato sauce) to pan; cook 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Serve over couscous, rice, pasta etc; sprinkle with cheese.

Happy eating!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

