Hello!

Apologies for the brief hiatus. I’ve been trying to update the blog as regularly as possible. If you’re interested in what I made for the first meeting of our D.C. supper club, you can find it on my blog.

I’m back into cooking mode and I hope to have some new and healthy recipes to share in the coming months. No more hunks of brie; this food-lover needs to fit into a wedding gown!

That said, the majority of my go-to recipes are, as you know, from Cooking Light. The one I’m providing today is one of the best potato soups I’ve eaten! (Don’t forget to clean the leeks well!)

For all you readers out there, I’m currently reading “The Apprentice” by the famous chef Jacques Pepin. It tells the story of his upbringing in France, working in various kitchens, including the kitchen of France’s prime minister, and then moving to the States and learning about American cooking. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a good read.

Enjoy!

GOLDEN POTATO-LEEK SOUP – Courtesy Cooking Light

Yukon Gold potatoes are really buttery and make the perfect addition to this lovely soup. Serve on a cold early-March night.

1 tablespoon butter
3 cups thinly sliced leek (about 3 medium)
6 cups cubed peeled Yukon gold potato (about 2 1/4 pounds)
2 cups water
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 (14-ounce) cans organic vegetable broth (such as Swanson Certified Organic)
2 thyme sprigs
1/3 cup whipping cream
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Thyme sprigs (optional)

To prepare soup, melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add leek; cook 10 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally (do not brown).

Add potatoes, water, salt, broth, and 2 thyme sprigs. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer, uncovered, 20 minutes or until potatoes are very tender.

Remove pan from heat; discard thyme sprigs. Partially mash potatoes with a potato masher (or immersion blender); stir in cream. Sprinkle with black pepper. Garnish with thyme sprigs, if desired.

I hope you enjoyed Hillman’s Helpings! Happy Birthday A.A.!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hillman
Hillman’s Helpings

