Hello!

I’m not going to make any excuses for not writing for almost two months. Let’s just say that life has been busy. I got married and changed my last name to Kase, but this newsletter will always be a Hillman creation so “Hillman’s Helpings” it will stay.

I’ve actually been cooking a lot more lately. I’ve been pretty bored of my old standbys to I’ve been trying to make 1-2 new recipes each week. For the most part, they’ve turned out really well. I’ve been trying to make the most out of the summer produce.

This weekend, we had over some friends for the first time. I obviously wanted to make a good impression so I made a HUGE meal, thinking there’s no way we’d finish it all — we were wrong. Our bellies full, we couldn’t forget about dessert, which was my favorite part of this meal.

I made a Peach-Blueberry Cobbler from CookingLight that was out-of-this-world. It’s hard to believe it wasn’t super fattening!

Enjoy!

PEACH-BLUEBERRY COBBLER

Filling:
½ cup sugar
2 tbs. all-purpose flour
½ tsp. lemon zest
¼ tsp. salt
3 cups (about 2 pounds) chopped, peeled peaches
2 cups (about 1 pint) blueberries
1 tbs. lemon juice
Cooking Spray

Topping:
1 and 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/3 cup granulated (white) sugar
½ tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
3 tbs. chilled butter, cut into small pieces
2/3 cup low-fat buttermilk
1 and ½ tbs. turbinado sugar (sugar in the raw)

Preheat oven to 400.

To prepare filling, combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl. Add peaches, blueberries and juice. Spoon mixture into 8-inch square baking dish coated with cooking spray. Bake a 400 for 15 minutes.

To prepare topping, combine flour, granulated sugar, baking powder and salt stirring with a whisk. Cut in butter with a pastry blender. If you don’t have a pastry blender, no problem! You can just take two butter knives and to use them like scissors and crumble the butter into your mixture until it resembles coarse meal. Add buttermilk and stir until just moist (not too much).

Remove dish from oven and drop dough onto fruit mixture to form 8 rounds. It doesn’t matter if it isn’t even or looks ugly – it’s supposed to! Sprinkle evenly with turbinado sugar. Bake at 400 for 25 minutes or until bubbly and golden.

Serve with low-fat vanilla ice cream.

Bon appetit!

I promise to begin my regular Hillman’s Helpings issues again. Happy Fourth of July!

Sincerely,

Lauren Kase
Hillman’s Helpings

