Hello!

I’ve you’ve been reading my blog (and my Facebook status), you’ll know that I’ve been devouring heirloom tomatoes the last few weeks. I’ve been picking them up at our local farmers markets, and I must say, despite spending almost $5.00 (yes, $5.00) on just one of them, they are probably the best tomatoes I’ve ever tasted!

I think they are best eaten in a salad, completely raw, so you can taste how sweet and fresh they are. Mostly, I’ve been simply dressing them with salt, pepper, EVOO and fresh basil from my garden, but there are TONS of heirloom tomato recipes out there to choose from. Below is one of my favorites.

Enjoy!

HEIRLOOM TOMATO PANZANELLA

2 pounds ripe heirloom tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and diced
1/4 cup minced red onion
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil leaves
1 tablespoon chopped fresh tarragon leaves
1 teaspoon sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper
Croutons
2 cups trimmed arugula
Wedge Parmesan, for shaving

Drain the tomatoes in a sieve to remove excess liquid while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
In a bowl, combine the tomatoes, onion, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, basil, tarragon, salt, and pepper. Add the croutons and toss well.

Divide tomato mixture among 4 plates. Top each serving with an equal amount of the arugula. With a vegetable peeler, shave the Parmesan over the salad. Serve immediately.

Bon appetit!

Sincerely,

Lauren Kase
Hillman’s Helpings

